A clearer view of Swiss hospitality education
SGSwiss Hotel School GuideHOSPITALITY EDUCATION
News

Switzerland hotel management: how the degrees differ

Hotel management in Switzerland is not one qualification. Length, internships and who awards the degree change from school to school.

News · Published 30 October 2026 · Editorial approach & affiliation

Hotel management degrees in Switzerland take three or four years, include between two and four internships, and come from the school, a UK partner university, or both. Which one you get depends on the school, and the gaps are wider than the course titles suggest.

01

How do Swiss hotel management degrees compare?

Here's what each school's own programme page says about its main bachelor route. "Not stated" means the page doesn't say, and we haven't filled the gap ourselves.

SchoolDegree titleLengthInternshipsAward
EHLBSc (HES-SO) in Hospitality Management[1]4 years, including a preparatory year[1]2 × 6 months[1]Diploma carries the HES-SO designation[1]
GlionBSc (International Hospitality Business)[2]1 + 3 years[2]3 placements, lengths not stated[2]Not stated on the page[2]
Les RochesBSc in Global Hospitality Management[3]4 years (8 semesters)[3]2 × 6 months[3]Not named on the page[3]
SHMSBA in International Hospitality Management[4]3 years[4]2 × 6 months[4]SHMS and University of Derby[4]
BHMSBA in Hotel & Hospitality Management[5]3 years[5]3 × 6 months[5]BHMS and Robert Gordon University, dual awards[5]
César RitzBSc in Hospitality Business Management[6]4 years[6]2, length not specified[6]Not stated on the page[6]
HTMiBSc (Hons) International Hospitality Management and HTMi BA[7]4 years[7]4 × 4–6 months[7]Ulster University (BSc) and HTMi (BA)[7]
Culinary Arts AcademyBachelor of International Business in Culinary Arts and BA (Hons) Culinary Arts[8]3 years[8]2 × 6 months[8]The Academy and University of Derby[8]

The last row is a kitchen-based degree, not hotel management as such. We kept it in because the guide covers all eight schools.

02

Three years or four: what changes?

SHMS, BHMS and the Culinary Arts Academy run three-year routes. EHL, Glion, Les Roches, César Ritz and HTMi run four.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7][8] At EHL and Glion, the extra year is a preparatory year.[1][2]

A longer route isn't better or worse by default. It changes your calendar, adds months of living costs, and pushes back your first full-time job. Make sure you're comparing like with like before you compare anything else.

03

Who actually awards the degree?

Families often skip this question, so ask it early. Some schools name a UK partner: Derby for SHMS and the Culinary Arts Academy, Robert Gordon University for BHMS, Ulster University for the HTMi BSc (Hons).[4][8][5][7] EHL's diploma carries the HES-SO designation.[1] For Glion, Les Roches and César Ritz, the programme page doesn't say who awards the degree.[2][3][6]

HTMi's earlier years lead to a certificate, a diploma and a higher diploma before the bachelor year. The page doesn't say who awards those.[7]

04

Which schools are on the swissuniversities list?

EHL is listed under "Universities of Applied Sciences". Glion, Les Roches and César Ritz sit under "Other institutions of the higher education sector". You won't find BHMS, SHMS or HTMi on the page.[9] The list is for information only, and accreditation questions go to the Swiss Accreditation Council.[9]

Missing from that list doesn't mean weak teaching. It means you should check the award separately, and the recognition page shows you how.

05

What does this mean for you?

Before you shortlist, write four things beside each school: the exact degree title, the length, the number and length of internships, and who awards it. Then ask the school about anything marked "not stated" above.

  • Internships. Ask who secures the placement. SHMS's own page promises two internships in its highlights, but its FAQ says they're competitive and depend on the student's effort.[4] Get the real wording in writing.
  • Campus. Les Roches lists Crans-Montana, Marbella and Abu Dhabi, with transfers possible.[3] For one of its degrees, Glion lists Switzerland and London.[2] Confirm where you'd study each year.
  • Award. If you plan to study further or work outside Switzerland, ask the university or employer you'd apply to what they accept for that exact award.

A note on BHMS: we're affiliated with it, and we say so on our methodology page. BHMS sits in the table on the same terms as the others, taken from its own page.[5] Weigh it against the facts above, not against our affiliation.

06

Next step

Use the comparison tool to put two or three schools side by side, or answer the five questions in the school finder. For money, see costs, which uses the fee schedules each school publishes. To see how placements differ, read internships.

Sources

  1. EHL Hospitality Business School: Bachelor degree in hospitality
  2. Glion Institute of Higher Education: Bachelor's degrees
  3. Les Roches: Bachelor of Science in Global Hospitality Management
  4. Swiss Hotel Management School: Bachelor of Arts in International Hospitality Management
  5. BHMS Business & Hotel Management School: BA in Hotel & Hospitality Management
  6. César Ritz Colleges Switzerland: Bachelor of Science in Hospitality Business Management
  7. HTMi Hotel and Tourism Management Institute: 4-Year Diploma and Bachelor's Degree
  8. Culinary Arts Academy Switzerland: Bachelor degree in Culinary Arts
  9. swissuniversities: Accredited Swiss higher education institutions
Good decisions start with clarity.

We compare Swiss hospitality education options to help international students make informed decisions. Read our sources, commercial disclosure and editorial approach.

Your shortlist

Add a school

Choose up to four institutions.